What you need to know to improve your coaching: the Four Stages of Competence

Coaching is not just about teaching skills; it's about guiding individuals towards mastery. To be an effective coach, it's crucial to understand the psychology behind learning and skill development.

What you need to know to improve your coaching: the Four Stages of Competence

The Four Stages of Competence model provides valuable insights into how individuals progress from unconscious incompetence to conscious competence.

In this blog post, we'll delve into each stage and discuss how this understanding can profoundly influence coaching strategies.

Stage 1: Unconscious Incompetence

At this stage, individuals are unaware of their lack of skills or knowledge in a particular area.

For a coach, recognizing this stage in a learner is essential. It requires patience and sensitivity to gently point out gaps in understanding without discouraging the learner. Creating a safe environment for self-assessment can help learners become aware of what they don't know.

At this stage, the coach must make the sailors aware of this new technique. This is done with a clear explanation or demonstration of the overall process and basic steps involved.

It is extremely important for the sailor to understand what successful use of the technique looks like, and some understanding on how to achieve this.

Stage 2: Conscious Incompetence

This is the stage where learners become aware of their lack of competence in a specific skill or area.

While this realization might be humbling, it's a necessary step towards growth. As a coach, your role here is to provide constructive feedback, offer guidance, and suggest learning resources. This is a critical juncture where learners might feel overwhelmed. Supporting them through this phase with empathy and encouragement can prevent them from getting discouraged.

This is when the exercises that we choose can have a massive impact on the rate of learning. We want to achieve an effective learning environment free from distractions and pressure. We do this by choosing non-competitive exercises that focus solely on the technique and reward good technique.

The four stages of competence
The four stages of competence

Stage 3: Conscious Competence

At this stage, learners have acquired the necessary skills, but their execution is conscious and deliberate. They need to focus and think about each step. Coaching at this stage involves fine-tuning and practice. Encourage learners to repeat tasks, provide more in-depth feedback looking at refinements in the processes and how the skill is being used in the real-life situation.

We now use exercises that make the sailor execute this new skill in real life situations slowly increasing diversions and pressure. This must be done carefully, as progressing too quickly can lead to a temporary backward step in the overall level of the skill. If this does occur, briefly removing some of these pressures will allow the sailors to regain confidence and begin to progress again.

Gradually, the effort required to perform the skill becomes more natural as they move to the next stage.

Related: Leadership and Coaching Philosophy

Stage 4: Unconscious Competence

In this final stage, learners have mastered the skill to the point where it becomes second nature. They can perform the task effortlessly, almost on autopilot. As a coach, your role shifts from instruction to occasional refinement. Encourage learners to teach others, which reinforces their own understanding and solidifies their expertise.

Test the skill in a competitive real-world situation within a few practice races. We should be able to observe no decrease in the ability of the skill when it is put under this pressure.

We should also start integrating more questions into our coaching conversations, challenging the sailors understanding of the technique and its uses.

Implications for Coaching

Understanding the Four Stages of Competence is a game-changer for coaches. Here's how it influences coaching strategies:

  1. Tailored Instruction: Recognizing where learners are in their journey allows coaches to provide instruction and guidance suited to their current level of competence.
  2. Patience and Encouragement: Acknowledging the challenges learners face in the conscious incompetence stage, coaches can provide the right balance of support and challenge, ensuring learners don't lose motivation.
  3. Focused Practice: Coaches can design drills and exercises that help learners transition from conscious competence to unconscious competence. Consistent practice and repetition are key.
  4. Promoting Autonomy: As learners progress, coaches can gradually empower them to take ownership of their learning. This builds confidence and independence.
Teaching the right technique since the first classes is crucial. If we teach the students another technique just because it's "easier", they will automatize the wrong technique and it will be harder to correct it.

Coaching is an art that requires an understanding of human psychology and learning processes. The Four Stages of Competence model offers invaluable insights into how individuals acquire and refine skills. By tailoring coaching strategies to each stage, coaches can guide learners effectively, fostering growth, confidence, and mastery. Remember, coaching isn't just about imparting knowledge; it's about facilitating transformation.

⛵️ We would love to help you accomplish your goals and become a more complete sailor or coach. For job inquiries send us an email to sailinganswers@gmail.com and our team will contact you! ⛵️

❓ If you have more tips leave them in the comments! :)
💌 If you found this information useful please share this article and subscribe!